Best Commercial Truck Insurance Companies

If you’re short on time: Great West Casualty (A+, trucking-only since 1956) and Canal Insurance (A−, specialty and hard-to-place since 1939) are the long-established trucking monolines. Progressive Commercial is the largest truck insurer by written premium and the only major that sells online, by phone and through agents. biBERK and 1st Guard are the strongest direct-buy options. NITIC and XINSURANCE are the two that publicly say they’ll write brand-new authority.
Which is right for you depends on three things: how long you’ve held your authority, what you haul, and whether you want to buy direct or through an agent.
Get Your Free Estimate
What Nobody Else Will Tell You About New Authority
We checked all 30 carriers and brokers on this page against their own published materials. Only six state their new-authority position publicly. Everyone else — including Great West, Progressive, Canal, National Indemnity, Northland, Sentry, The Hartford and GEICO — publishes nothing about how much operating history they require.
That isn’t evasion, it’s how the market works: appetite is set in underwriting guidelines that live with appointed agents, and it shifts as a carrier’s book fills. But it means you cannot shop new authority from carrier websites. You need an agent with current appointments.
Here’s what is actually stated:
| Carrier | New authority position | Source |
|---|---|---|
| NITIC | Yes — “If you are a new venture with no prior insurance, that’s okay — we can still quote you” | Own site |
| XINSURANCE | Yes — explicitly lists “operating authority less than 2 years old (new ventures)” | Own site |
| Reliance Partners | Yes — dedicated New Venture program | Own site |
| Marquee Insurance Group | Yes — dedicated New Venture page; handles BMC-91X and MCS-90 filings | Own site |
| Cover Whale | Conditional — “2 years experience required for new ventures” | Program guidelines |
| Acuity | No — “in business for at least one year” minimum | Program guidelines |
| RLI Transportation | Restrictive — admitted trucking requires 11+ power units | Own site |
| Everyone else | Not published | — |
Comparison table
Last updated: 9/25/2026
Ratings verified September 2026. AM Best affirmation dates in parentheses.
| Carrier | AM Best | New authority | Trucking coverages | States | How to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Great West Casualty | A+ (Superior) (Apr 2026) | Not published | Auto liability, cargo, GL, physical damage, non-trucking use, trailer interchange, excess, workers’ comp, occ/acc | 46 | Agents only (200+ trucking-specialist agencies) |
| Canal Insurance | A− (Excellent) (Sep 2025) | Not published | Auto liability to $1M, truckers GL, physical damage w/ mechanical breakdown, cargo, reefer breakdown, trailer interchange, MCS-90 same-day | Nationwide | Retail & wholesale agents |
| Progressive Commercial | A+ (Superior) (May 2026)¹ | Not published | Primary liability, cargo, physical damage, NTL, bobtail, truckers GL, trailer interchange, UIIA, filings | All 50 | Online, phone or agent |
| National Indemnity | A++ (Superior) (Apr 2026) | Not published | Liability, truckers GL, physical damage, cargo, in-tow/on-hook, trailer interchange, non-trucking liability | 43 + DC² | Agents only |
| Northland Insurance | A++ (Superior) (Aug 2026)³ | Not published | Auto liability, GL, cargo, physical damage, roadside & towing | Not published | Agents (transportation specialists) |
| Sentry Insurance | A+ (Superior) (Jul 2026) | Not published | Auto liability, physical damage, cargo, NTL, GL incl. product liability & E&O, cyber | Not published | Agents only (~65 trucking specialists) |
| biBERK | A++ on BHDIC⁴ | Not published | Commercial auto liability + physical damage, on-hook towing, cargo liability, trailer interchange, UM/UIM | Not published | Direct online, ~5 min |
| NITIC | B++ (Good) (2021)⁵ | Yes — new ventures OK | Primary liability, GL, physical damage, cargo, bobtail/NTL, trailer interchange, on-hook, hazmat, reefer breakdown, short-term | 48 | Direct, in-house trucking-only agents |
| 1st Guard | A (Excellent) (Apr 2026) | Not published | Physical damage, NTL, occ/acc, workers’ comp, passenger accident, extended towing, downtime, loan gap | Not published | Direct only — “no agents are able to provide a 1st Guard quote” |
| OOIDA | Not rated⁶ | Not published | Primary liability, GL, cargo, physical damage, bobtail/NTL, passenger accident, towing & cleanup, downtime, gap | Not published | Direct via OOIDA’s own agents |
| Cover Whale | MGA — partner paper⁷ | 2 years experience required | Auto liability, physical damage, cargo, NTL, GL, reefer breakdown. Dashcam required for AL | AL non-admitted in 34, admitted in 7; other lines 45 | Appointed brokers |
| HDVI | MGA — Spinnaker A−⁸ | Not published | Fleet coverages (not itemized publicly) | 26 | Both — 100+ agencies, also direct enquiry |
| Prime Insurance | ⚠️ B (Fair), under review negative (Aug 2026) | “New Operators Coverage” listed | Auto liability, physical damage, cargo, excess, HNOA, drive-away, terminal ops | 50 (E&S) | Agents/brokers |
| RLI Transportation | A++ (Superior) (Feb 2026) | 11+ power units for admitted | Auto liability, physical damage, cargo, GL; E&S auto for 2+ units | 50 | Agents; E&S wholesale only |
| The Hartford | A+ (Superior) (Jul 2026) | Not published | Motor truck GL, cargo, NTL, trailer interchange, bobtail, reefer breakdown | Not published | Agents |
| Liberty Mutual | A (Excellent) (Sep 2025) | Not published | ⚠️ Generic commercial auto only — no trucking-specific coverages published⁹ | Not published | Agents + direct for small business |
| GEICO Commercial | Underwriter not published¹⁰ | Not published | Liability, physical damage, cargo w/ reefer breakdown, truckers GL, NTL, trailer interchange, HNOA | Not published | Not clearly stated |
| Acuity | A+ (Superior) (Feb 2026) | No — 1 year minimum | Commercial truck program; handles federal/state filings; ~50,000 trucks insured | 30+ | Independent agents only |
| Great American | A+ (Superior) (Dec 2025) | Not published | Trucking Division: physical damage, NTL, occ/acc, contingent liability, workers’ comp. Cargo via inland marine | Not published | Agents + motor-carrier-sponsored programs |
| National Interstate | A+ (Superior) (Dec 2025) | Targets 5+ unit fleets | Auto liability, physical damage, workers’ comp, cargo, excess, trailer interchange, GL, garage, property | All 50 | Producers/agents only |
| Acadia Insurance | A+ (Superior) (Jun 2026) | Not published | Clean-up & removal, legal liability, mobile equipment, property, reefer breakdown, terminal | ⚠️ New England + NY only | Independent agents |
| XINSURANCE | E&S brokerage¹¹ | Yes — under 2 years OK | Auto liability to $10M, physical damage, cargo w/ reefer, NTL/bobtail, trailer interchange, HNOA, GL, umbrella | 50 + USVI | Retail agents + direct |
| Amerisafe | A (Excellent) (Sep 2026) | Not published | ⚠️ Workers’ compensation only — no auto, cargo or physical damage | 27 | Agents |
Comparison Table: Brokers And Agencies
Brokers place your business with insurers; they don’t carry the risk themselves, which is why none of them has an AM Best rating. What matters here is how many markets they access and whether they’ll work with your situation.
| Firm | Type | New authority | Footprint | Direct quote? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reliance Partners | Transportation-only agency | Yes — New Venture program | National | Yes, same-day |
| Marquee Insurance Group | Trucking-only agency, 30+ markets | Yes — New Venture page | All 50 | Yes, same-day |
| Owner Operator Direct | Not verifiable¹² | Yes — own authority page | Not published | Yes, phone |
| Western Truck Insurance | Brokerage since 1954 | Not stated | 27 states | Yes |
| Gallagher Transportation | Global brokerage | Not stated | Global; mid-to-large fleets | No — consultative only |
| Higginbotham | Top-20 independent brokerage | Not stated | 87 offices, 15 states | Consultative |
| Colonial Insurance Services | Trucking-only agency, 25+ markets | Not stated | Atlanta-based; not published | Yes |
| Brookhurst Insurance | Agency — workers’ comp focus | Not stated | States 50 (self-stated) | Yes |
| Freeway Insurance | Retail brokerage (Confie) | Not stated | ⚠️ Site contradicts itself¹³ | Yes |
| Farmer Brown | Agency, trucking + food truck | Not stated | 50 (self-stated) | Yes |
| Lucky Truck | ⚠️ Now The Buckner Company | Not published | UT, CO, ID | No — redirect notice only |
| Sunbelt Transportation | ⚠️ Now SBK Insurance | Not stated | Chattanooga, TN | Yes, via SBK |
| CoverWallet | ⚠️ Retired into Aon Affinity¹⁴ | — | — | No trucking product |
| Balsiger Insurance | ⚠️ Generalist — no motor-carrier practice¹⁵ | — | 23 states | Yes |

